To the boy

To the boy I had a crush on when I was 5.
Thank you for letting me play with your little toy cars.
In the corner of your living room by your little toy parking lot
And for sharing a biscuit with a little girl in a yellow dress,
Who was too innocent to know why she felt butterflies.

To the boy I had a crush on when I was 8.
Your father called up looking for my dad but he wasn’t around.
Then your Father asked you “Do you want to talk to Hannah?”
And you answered “Noooooo!”. I heard something break.
What I didn’t know that day was… it was my heart.

To the boy I had a crush on when I was 10.
Your family sent out a Christmas card and I saw:
Your father, your mother, your siblings and you,
The little boy who made it very clear, you didn’t
want to talk to me. Although, I still kept the Christmas card.

To the boy I had a crush on when I was 13.
Ho Ho Ho! Another Christmas card from your family.
Puberty was eating away the little boy, I knew at first sight.
You had pimples, an oily face and bad posture.You looked like
the boys I avoided in school. “Forget it!” I said to myself.

To the boy I had a crush on when I was 15.
Me oh my! Puberty did it’s magic on you, the little boy I knew.
You were a handsome man now. Above average for sure!
No matter how much you’ve changed physically.
Your smile was still the little boy’s smile, whom a little girl loved.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

