Loneliness

Why do like being alone?
Why don’t you let it go?
I’ve tried through
the echoing screams that call
for comfort at night when
silence orchestrates
bittersweet lullabies
using happy memories
I cannot wake up to.

Staying in the darkest
corners of life.
I try to imagine
the moment I won’t have
to masquerade myself
with a plastered smile
and over enthusiasm.
When someone asks
“How are you?”

The Truth is
“Well, I have a hard
time sleeping
because of the
echoing screams that call
for comfort at night when
silence orchestrates
bittersweet lullabies
using happy memories
I cannot wake up to.”

Instead, it’s safer to lie.
I put on a mask
with a plastered smile,
drink a cup of
over enthusiasm
and answer
“I’m Okay.
How about you?”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

